File photo by Emily Morina/The Left Bench

No. 8 Terps host Spartans in Big Ten Quarterfinals

After finishing the regular season with a six-game win streak, the Maryland field hockey team (12-5, 6-2) takes on Michigan State (8-10, 2-6) in their first game of the Big Ten Tournament in College Park on Sunday, Oct. 28.

It was a win against the Spartans on Oct. 6 in East Lansing that started the Terps’ hot streak, which included defeating four ranked opponents. Maryland also scored four or more goals in four of those six games.

Look for the Terps to build off their regular season momentum, scoring early and dominating possession against the Spartans.

Maryland’s offense is led by senior midfielder Lein Holsboer, sophomore defender Bodil Keus and junior forward Linnea Gonzales. The trio has combined for 25 goals and 156 shots during the regular season.

Michigan State’s offense is led by redshirt senior midfielder Kendal Anderson, redshirt senior defender Simone Vagnoni and senior forward Sophie Macadre. The three have a combined 21 goals and 139 shots.

Holsboer, Keus and Gonzales have not been alone atop the Terps’ leaderboard. Both junior forward Melissa Wilken and sophomore midfielder Madison Maguire had career games against Rutgers on Oct. 22, scoring three goals apiece in Maryland’s 6-0 victory. The pair also has a combined 53 shots.

While the Terps’ offense has been dominant as of late, their defense has been dominant throughout the entire season. Junior goalkeeper Sarah Holliday ended the regular season with 24 goal and 81 saves.

The Spartan’s defense is led by the goalkeeping team of senior Katie Miller and freshman Mairi Fletcher. Miller has 31 goals against and 66 saves, while Fletcher has 25 goals against and 55 saves. Look for Miller to start, but Fletcher to possibly make an appearance late in the game.

Both Maryland and Michigan State have drawn over a hundred penalty corners, with the Terps drawing 111 and the Spartans drawing 101. Both teams will be looking to capitalize on the corners they are awarded.

The game will be streamed live at 1 p.m. on BTNPlus.