Photo courtesy Maryland Athletics.

Terps take home both men and women’s Tewaaraton awards

By Johnny Moseman and Ben Warco

After winning both the Men’s and Women’s lacrosse national championships, two Maryland Terrapins also took home the Tewaaraton Award, lacrosse’s highest individual honor.

Senior attackman Matt Rambo and senior midfielder Zoe Stukenberg both took home what some call the Heisman of lacrosse on Thursday night. Rambo is the first winner for Maryland on the Men’s side while Stukenberg is Maryland’s sixth straight, and eight overall, winner for the women.

This is the first time in the award’s history that both winners have come from the same school.

“I’m very proud of Zoe and Matt for earning this prestigious honor,” University of Maryland Athletic Director Kevin Anderson said. “These seniors are selfless leaders who have always put their team first. Zoe and Matt both played pivotal roles in winning national championships last weekend, and to see them honored at the highest level is truly a remarkable accomplishment.”

Rambo was coming off a career year where had a career-high in both points and assists, while leading the Terps to their first national title in 42 years. He is also Maryland’s first player to score 40 goals and total 40 assists in a season, finishing with 42 goals and 45 assists.

Named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, Rambo led the league in points and assists per game, averaging 4.58 points and 2.37 assists per game. The Glenside, Pennsylvania native also earned First Team All-American and First Team All-Big Ten honors.

Rambo joins Joe Walters as the only other player to play for Maryland to be nominated for the award. Rambo passed Walters as Maryland’s all-time leading goal scorer and he also passed Bob Boniello this season as Maryland’s all-time leader in points scored.

“I’m proud of how hard Matt has worked in his time in College Park,” Maryland Athletic Director Kevin Anderson said. “For him to be a graduate, lead his team to a national championship and be recognized as the top player in his sport is a testament to his effort and leadership.”

On the women’s side, Stukenberg was the Terrapins’ rock in the midfield, ranking top-three on the team in every statistical category, racking up a career-high in goals, 53, and assists, 31, while also adding 48 ground balls, 74 draw controls and 21 caused turnovers.

In addition to the Tewaaraton, Stunkenberg was also awarded the title of Big Ten Midfielder of the Year, named to both the All-Big Ten team and earned IWLCA First Team All-American honors.

“Zoe is such a special person,” head coach Cathy Reese said. “It’s been an honor to coach Zoe these past four years, and I’m so proud of her for earning this honor.”

Stukenberg joins former-Terps Taylor Cummings, Katie Schwarzmann, Caitlyn McFadden and Jen Adams as Maryland players who won the award.

“Everyone is so different. So many amazing qualities and traits about them but each player is so different that’s come through here. I think the one thing that’s similar for all of them is they would all credit their success to their teammates,” Reese said in May about the former Tewaaraton Award winners that have played for her.

Stukenberg expressed her love for the Maryland women’s lacrosse program and what it has meant to her last Sunday after winning her third national title.

“This was more than a lacrosse team. This is a family,” Stukenberg said last Sunday. “I love Maryland, I love everything about it. I love Cathy.”

Other finalists for the women’s award included North Carolina midfielder Marie McCool, Stony Brook attacker Kylie Ohlmiller, Princeton attacker Olivia Hompe and Maryland defender Nadine Hadnagy.

On the men’s side, Rambo beat out Denver faceoff specialist Trevor Baptiste, Albany attackman Connor Fields, Loyola (MD) attackman Pat Spencer and Yale attackman Ben Reeves for the award.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.